Follow us

Office Closed For Independence Day

 – John Adams is the reason we have fireworks. He wrote that the Fourth would be celebrated “with illuminations from one end of this continent to the other from this time forward, forevermore.”

 – There were only 13 stars on the first flag, representing the original 13 colonies. The blue square behind them is referred to as “the union”.

 – The first Fourth of July was celebrated in 1777, the year after the Declaration of Independence was finalized.
 – Calvin Coolidge was the only president born on the Fourth of July but three died – John Adams, Thomas. Jefferson and James Monroe.
 – The Fourth of July was not a federal holiday until 1870 and not a paid holiday until 1941!